Banjo Player: Martin Luther King Memo

by Fenton Johnson

There is music in me, the music of a peasant people.
I wander through the levee, picking my banjo and singing
my songs of the cabin and the field. At the
Last Chance Saloon I am as welcome as the violets
in March; there is always food and drink for me
there, and the dimes of those who love honest music.
Behind the railroad tracks the little children clap
their hands and love me as they love Kris Kringle.

But I fear that I am a failure. Last night a woman
called me a troubadour. What is a troubadour?

... Internet Freedom: Martin Luther King Jr. Removed From the Web

9 thoughts on “Banjo Player: Martin Luther King Memo

  1. roxance burns george arrington hans January 19, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    how powerful it is to know this person ever existed and inspired us.

    Like

  2. Baylee Zach Layton Flecher Pichette January 20, 2015 / 4:34 am

    a true hero indeed,
    of course, at the sad event, we recall it and feel the regret of what has happened to this human.

    peace, martin Luther king.

    Like

  3. stephan peter carl victor hudson January 20, 2015 / 2:47 pm

    this is a milestone reminder and the content indeed gives us extended thoughts on us as human, living on earth, and intends to make a difference among social classes and civil rights.

    Like

Leave a Reply

